Skip To Main Content

Search Panel

Schools Menu

Drivers Compete in School Bus Safety Competition

The front of the bus, which is decorated for the theme of the spirit competition that is included in the bus safety Road-e-o

Did you know that some of our talented bus drivers compete in a regional safety competition each year? The Puget Sound Driver Trainer Association 121 organizes a "Road-E-O," in which teams of drivers from different districts compete by testing their skills behind the wheel along with their school bus safety knowledge.

Our ISD team of drivers including Latisha Boyd, Harrison Storm, Sheri Wangugi and Alex Attenwoode competed recently at the "Road-E-O" in Auburn. They’re pictured in this post along with coach, Kathy Garrison, at center. In the "rookies" category, Storm took first place, and Wangugi won third. Both will go on to compete in the state competition next month.

This year, the association also offered a trophy to the team with the most spirit, as demonstrated via bus decorations to fit this year’s theme, “Blue Jeans and Bling.” The bus decorations, which were funded via donations and a bake sale, are the creative work of Yewnet Smith, with the assistance of Bridget Anderson and others from the Transportation Department. Our team won that prize, too!

(Note that the jeans and bling décor are not truly attached to the bus, but rather are on magnets that stick to the bus. Buses are only decorated when parked, and none of the decoration preparation was completed on district time.)

If you missed our prior video sharing about the Bus Road-E-O and celebrating our excellent drivers, watch it on YouTube

Last year, our drivers won first place as a team and also took the top three spots in the “rookie” category.

Above, the drivers on the team with the decorated bus with coach, Kathy Garrison, at center. Below, the side view and back of the bus with its "blue jeans and bling" decorations.

A bus featuring decorations in the theme of the spirit competition, which is one part of the Bus Roadeo.


Drivers with the ISD Transportation Department who will compete in this year's bus safety competition